Home > Health and Welfare, Ranking of 101 and above > The U.S ranks 180th in infant mortality

The U.S ranks 180th in infant mortality

According to the CIA’s World Factbook, the United States has 6.26 infant deaths for every 1,000 live births, which makes the United States rank one hundred and eightieth out of 224 countries in terms of infant mortality rates. Angola ranks first, with 180.21 infant deaths for every 1,000 live births.

  1. Tom Clementi
    28 August 2009 at 11:06 am

    The listing by the CAI factbook is given from worst-to-first, which means the US ranks 45th in infant mortality. Anglola ranks first only if you want the list to read worst-to-first. Sinapore has the best mortality rate, at 2.31 deaths per 1000 births.

  2. Mark
    28 August 2009 at 11:38 am

    I recognize the way that the CIA organized its ranking, and I make it clear in my entry. The #1 ranking in infant mortality (as opposed to infant survival) is the country that has the highest infant mortality rate.

  3. Another Tom
    17 October 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I agree with Tom. You might recognize how it is organized, but you still seem to misstate where the U.S. ranks in terms of infant mortality rate.

  4. Mark
    17 October 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Thanks for your comment, “Another Tom.”

    If there is a misstatement about the U.S. ranking in infant mortality, it comes from the CIA. In my entry, I simply restate what the CIA Factbook shows, and I provide the relevant link for anyone who wants to check my entry against the source material.

  5. R. J. Kelly
    12 December 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Your excuse seems pretty lame, Mark. “It wasn’t me, it was the snake”. Your comment would be more clear if you stated it instead, “Angola ranks the worst in infant mortality rates with 180.21 infant deaths for every 1,000 live births”.

  6. Mark
    12 December 2010 at 11:02 pm

    I have offered no excuse for this ranking; I have provided an explanation.

    If you read my entries, you’ll note that I do my best to avoid any evaluative judgments such as “best” or “worst.” Ranking America is not intended to be advocacy; it is intended to accurately report rankings gathered by reputable organizations from around the world.

    If you do not like how the ranking is reported, I refer you to the CIA World Factbook, which you can link to from the entry. The CIA lists Angola first in infant mortality, just as I do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

