Home > Uncategorized > Regarding the shootings in Newtown, Connecticut

Regarding the shootings in Newtown, Connecticut

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Hepburn3
    18 December 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Nicely written and argued!

  2. James Wiegert
    19 December 2012 at 12:47 am

    Dear Mark,

    The video advertisement below the link that leads to your article ‘the evil that guns can do’ in the Huffington Post is so prominent I thought you wanted me to watch it. I saw the link to the article only after watching half of the video and wondering what it had to do with the killings in Newtown.

    I saw the string of words ‘About these ads’ above the video, but the plural ‘ads’ threw me off because there’s only one video. When I clicked on the ‘About these ads’ link, I was taken to a WordPress webpage with a ‘No-ads upgrade’ link. And, when I clicked on that link, I was told that WordPress bloggers could pay $30 a year for ad-free blog pages or put up with ads. Apparently you’ve decided to put up with ads, which is your choice to make, but having made that choice, could you please make the links to whatever it is you want your readers to read more prominent than the inevitable ads?

    Sincerely,
    James Wiegert

  3. Mark
    19 December 2012 at 6:34 am

    Thanks for bringing this to my attention. In terms of deciding to put up with the ads, it was inertia more than anything else that led to the ads appearing. Until the blog started getting enough traffic, the ads never appeared. (I’m not even sure what the video of a dog getting a treat is even supposed to sell…but never mind.) I have always thought of Ranking America as non-commercial, so I’ll look into the upgrade you mention.

  4. Anonymous
    19 December 2012 at 11:49 am

    Might be the best piece I’ve read yet. Thoughtful. Thanks.

  5. Adam
    19 December 2012 at 11:49 am

    Might be the best piece I’ve read yet. Thanks. Very thoughtful.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

