Home > Health and Welfare, Ranking of 1 > The U.S. ranks 1st in breast augmentation

The U.S. ranks 1st in breast augmentation

According to the International Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery, in 2011 there were 284,351 breast augmentation surgeries performed in the United States, or 23.6% of all such surgeries. That is enough to make the United States rank first in that category.

Preview of “Breast augmentation.xlsx”

  1. Jenny
    27 February 2013 at 1:41 pm

    This does not surprise me whatsoever. Breast augmentation has become a pretty common procedure and today’s modern woman has more options when it comes to plastic surgery now. Just remember that choosing your plastic surgeon wisely will make all the difference.

  2. 24 March 2013 at 1:06 pm

    It quickly struck me that these were some of the most populous countries on Earth and I wondered what the ranking would be if the number of surgeries were taken as a percentage of the countries’ respective 2011 populations. Here’s that list:
    US .09%
    Brazil .07%
    Mexico .06%
    Italy .10%
    China .004%

    The first three obviously stay the same but clearly there is more interest in such surgeries in Italy than the top three and China probably doesn’t even belong on the list. Anytime you see China in a list of most anything, it’s best to be skeptical. They probably have the most toenail fungus too but it doesn’t mean their feet are dirtier.

  3. Mark
    25 March 2013 at 8:45 am

    I’m not sure “skeptical” is the word I’d use regarding China, but I agree with your larger point–China’s population is so large that many rankings skew in their favor. Nevertheless, I’m committed to posting rankings as I find them. I figure whoever puts them together must have a reason for doing so…

  4. stacie
    12 April 2013 at 3:59 am

    Breast augmentation is so popular because we, women, always want to look and feel better and more beautiful. I personally had a procedure because I was very embarrassed about the asymmetry of my breasts. The surgery worked great for me and I got impressive results. Due to this procedure, I’m looking more feminine and sexier now!😉

  1. 6 February 2013 at 11:38 pm
  2. 20 July 2013 at 12:08 pm
  3. 7 March 2014 at 1:33 am

Leave a Reply

